As a junior Developer,what should you need to know..?

img.png

As a junior in learning development , few key points you need to know

In my journey as a developer ,I'd like to think I've cultivated some healthy habits and probably an equal amount of bad ones.

If I had a time machine I would love to visit my younger self and pass on this wisdom,but we all know that's impossible.First,because I'm quite lazy and time-travel sounds like a lot of effort.And second,my younger self and not on speaking terms to anyone . So, since I can't do that , I'd like to offer up my wisdom to junior devs(and maybe senior too),whom I don't need to bend space-time to speak with.

Here's some points , will always help you:

  • Always ask question as if you're new.Then ask again.

  • Take a break after creating a pull request,then review your own code .

  • Look at others' PR,even if you're not reviewing them.

  • Embrace your weakness and leverage that as your learning experience.

  • Don't question what the seniors say.

  • Always question what the seniors say.

  • Acknowledge you are a juniors and be proud of it. Acknowledge you are a junior and proud of it--I would like to enlighten this point because this goes back to my first point about asking questions.I find a lot of junior devs are afraid of being judged and thus ,try to refrain from most of the habits I've listed above.But I think the healthiest,most productive mindset has to be quite the opposite.The advantage to being a junior dev is others' recognize it already --they're not expecting you to solve everything without any problems! You just have to acknowledge it yourself: this is where you are right now.You should be proud of that fact. I envy this.When you're "senior" ,people have certain expectations of you and it's hard to wear the "junior" hat and ask "silly" questions such as ,"what is const?".It took me long time to let go my ego and operate with more junior mindset,and it has never been more rewarding .I learn so much more,and I can better appreciate how much my teammates know,too.

Hope you like this and if you found this valuable ,give it a and send it along to some of the junior devs you know!!!!!